This website is privately owned and is not affiliated with the FLHSMV.

License in Tallahassee, Florida

License in Tallahassee, Florida




Florida License

In the Sunshine State, getting the driver's license is quite simple . All the driver must do is to complete a TLSAE course, pass a driving and theoretical exam, present the paperwork and the process will be finished.

There are different kinds of licences depending if you are young with no experience, or if you are a senior driver.

Class E - Learners license

Drivers between 15 and 18 years old must apply for this first driver's license called: class E - Learners License. The Graduated Driver License law (GDL) establishes this as the first step for those inexperienced drivers who are starting to learn how to drive.

To apply for the Learners License, the interested person must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course (TLSAE). After complying with this,it is necessary to make an appointment to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHMSV), where the officer will ask you to present all the documentation. The driver will have to pass a vision and hearing examination, if it is successful, the last step will be paying the fee to access the knowledge test.

Necessary Documents to apply for a Learners License

  • ID or Passport
  • Social Security Number
  • Document that Proof your Residential address
  • Parental consent for a driver application of a minor - If you are under 18
  • Proof of Legal residence in the US for all of those drivers who are not American citizens.

Characteristics of the Learners License:

  • The minor must drive under the supervision of a responsible adult over 21 years old with a valid driver's license.
  • There is a restriction to drive at night during the first 3 months of the license. After this time, it is permitted to drive up to 10PM.

If you hold the first Learners License, you will have 1 year to upgrade it and obtain an intermediate or full privilege license. If your Learners license expires, you will have to renew it and do the process all over again.

Intermediate Driver License (Teen)

As established by the Graduated Driver License laws (GDL),this is the second step: you must obtain the Intermediate Driver's License before the expiration date of your Learners license. With this license you can use the vehicle with non supervision, but there are still some restrictions that apply until you turn 18 years old.

To apply for the Intermediate License, the interested person must complete a full year of holding the Learners license with no traffic violations. It is necessary to count with 50 hours of driving practise, 10 of which must be during night time. After complying with this,it is necessary to make an appointment to the Service Center of the DHMSV, where the officer will ask you to present all the necessary documentation. The driver will have to pass the Driving exam, and if it is successful, he or she must surrender his/her learners license in order to obtain the new one.

Required Documents for an Intermediate License

It is very important that you count with the form Certification of Driving Experience of a Minor (HSMV 71142). This paper needs to be filled up by your driving instructor in the presence of an officer from the Driver License Center or a Notary Public.

Intermediate License restrictions:

  • You will be allowed to drive between 6:00 a.m. and 11:00 p.m without supervision . This rule will apply until you turn 17 years of age.
  • You will be allowed to drive between 5:00 a.m. and 1:00 a.m without supervision. This rule will apply until you turn 18 years of age.
  • You will not be allowed to drive outside these periods of time, unless you are supervised by an adult of 21 years old or older.

Full privilege Driver's License (Adult +18)

If the driver is over 18 years old, and has never had a Drivers license, he or she can apply for a Full privilege License without going through the steps mentioned before. However, those people who prefer to have supervised driving at the beginning, are allowed to get their full license starting from the learners step.

To apply for this Full-Privilege License, you must complete a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education course (TLSAE). After this, you will have to schedule an appointment to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHMSV), where you will present all of your papers to the officer. You will have to successfully pass a vision and a hearing examination, to access the Knowledge and driving test. If you comply with all of these steps, you will have to pay a fee (if apply) and take your Picture for your new drivers license.

Required Documents for a Full privilege License

  • Identification Card or Passport
  • Proof of Social Security Number
  • Proof of Residential address
  • If from outside the States: Proof of Legal residence in the US.

Transferring your Driver's License to the Florida Driver’s License.

Out of Florida Licenses.

If a Driver up to 16 years old, with a current valid Driver's license needs to transfer their out of state license to a Florida one, the only requirement will be to pass a Vision and Hearing examination. On the contrary, if the license is expired, the driver will be requested to pass these medical examinations, plus the Knowledge and the Driving exam.

To be able to apply for the Full-Privilege License in Florida, the driver has to schedule an appointment at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHMSV), where the officer will request to present all the documentation. The driver will have to go through a vision and hearing examination. If everything is successful, the last step will be to pay the fee, take a Picture, and surrender the out of state license the driver owns.

Once you comply with all the requirements mentioned above, you will obtain a Full Privilege Florida Drivers License. This License will be valid for 8 years, and it will expire the day of your birthday.

Holders of a License from another country outside the US.

If the driver is coming from another country, to be able to obtain the Florida Drivers license he or she will have to follow a similar process to the ones followed when applying for a new Driver's license. There are some exceptions if the driver comes from Canada or Germany, (in which case, the only requirement is to take a driving and Knowledge test), France, South Korea and Taiwan.

To apply for this Florida driver’s license, you must schedule an appointment at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHMSV), once you are there an officer will request all of your documentation. You will have to pass a vision and a hearing examination, and if apply, you will also take the Knowledge and the Driving test. If you comply with all of these steps, you will have to pay a fee and take your Picture for your new drivers license.

This website is privately owned and is not affiliated with the FLHSMV (Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles). Remember that we are never going to solicit any personal information, ID or credentials. The official FLHSMV website: https://www.flhsmv.gov/


FL DMV offices in Tallahassee, Florida

3477 S. Monroe St., 32301

Driver License & Motor Vehicle Services

(850) 606-4700



Office info

2900 Apalachee Parkway,, Room B-142, MS-76, 32399

Bureau of Dealer Services

(850) 617-2999



Office info

1210, 32301

Driver License & Motor Vehicle Services

(850) 606-4700



Office info

870 Blountstown Highway, Suite A, 32304

Driver License & Vehicle Services 2

(850) 606-4700



Office info

1276 Metropolitan Blvd, Suite 102, 32312

Tallahassee Driver License & Motor Vehicle Office

(850) 606-4700



Office info

1276 Metropolitan Boulevard, Suite 101, 32312

Tallahassee Clerk of the Court Office

(850) 606-4100



Office info

3840 N. Monroe St., 32303

Driver License & Vehicle Services

(850) 606-4700



Office info

3056 Crawfordville Highway, 32327

Crawfordville Clerk of the Court Office

(850) 926-0905



Office info


Other services in Tallahassee, Florida:


Search FL DMV offices in Leon county by city


Search FL DMV offices in Florida by county


Search FL DMV offices by service




© 2022 fldmv.net - This website is privately owned and is not affiliated with the FLHSMV. The official FLHSMV website: https://www.flhsmv.gov/